Constitutional Review

Work under this phase has been divided into three phases. The first phase has focused on receiving written submissions and consultative meetings with target groups.This phase shall see the production of an issues paper from the meetings with target groups.

The second phase anticipates the holding of a 4 day National Constitutional Conference in the month of March, 2006. The purpose of this conference is to launch the Constitutional review process since it is a programme of significant national interest and to build a consensus on the issues in need of law reform. The conference is also seen as a measure to give the whole process credibility and legitimacy in pursuit of national building.

The third phase shall comprise of the law reform process and shall commence with the appointment of experts as Commissioners to work for a period of 3 months. It is envisaged that the special commission shall work from April to June 2006 before submitting their report containing findings and recommendations to the scrutiny of a second National Constitutional Conference.

This programme is being led by the Law Commissioner, Mr. Anthony Kamanga, SC and assisted by the Chief Law Reform Officer, Mrs Janet L Banda.

Documents Produced

    Final Report of the Special Law Commission on the Review of the Constitution
    Report on the Proceedings of the 2nd National Constitution Conference
    Press Release on the 2nd National Constitution Conference
    Issues Paper
    Consultation Paper
    Discussion Paper No. 1: Human Rights Under the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi
    Discussion Paper No. 2: The Character of the Legislature Under the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi, 1994
    Discussion Paper No. 3: Electoral Systems and Management of Elections [Malawi]
    Discussion Paper No. 4: The Constitution and the Executive Branch of Government
    Discussion Paper No. 5: Constitutional Institutions and other Oversight Bodies
    Discussion Paper No. 6: The Constitution and the Judiciary
    Discussion Paper No. 7: Amendments to the Constitution and Preservation of its Sanctity

To view all documents/papers presented at the 1st National Conference, click here

Chairperson of Commission
Professor Zimani Kadzamira

Deputy Chairperson
Mrs. Mary Nkosi

Programme Officers

    Mrs. Janet Banda
    Mr. Allison Mbang'ombe
    Mr. Peter Chiniko
    Mr. William Msiska
    Mrs. Fiona Mwale
    Mr. Chizaso Nyirongo
    Mr. Austin Msowoya


    Mr. Anthony Kamanga, SC
    Father Boniface Tamani
    Dr. Msaiwale Chigawa
    Rev. Dr. Winston Kawale
    Ron Nkomba
    Mrs. Dorothy Nyasulu
    Alex Maluza
    Willy Samute
    Steve Matenje, SC
    Maxon Mbendera
    Dr. Edrine Kayambazinthu
    Bertha Sefu
    Sheikh Abdul K. Saini
    Moses Mkandawire
    Ted Nandolo
    Archibold Kapote Mwakasungula
    Justice Michael Mtegha
    Justice Lovemore Chikopa
    Justice Frank Kapanda
    Sophie Kalimba
    Mavuto Hara
    Boniface Dulani

Period of Work
2005 -


    Government of Malawi
    European Union